Connect with us

Alabama Football News

Alabama Football: Which players are on award lists in 2014?

Postseason success is better than preseason hype; however, it’s beneficial for players to have a barometer of how good they can be potentially.

Alabama enters 2014 with 29 players named to award watch lists. Since 2008, Crimson Tide players have won at least one of the major national college football awards every year. This is the longest active streak in college football.

Collectively, Alabama wants to resurrect its identity and win its 16th national title, but it doesn’t hurt for players to have an opportunity at individual awards. Here is a list of the 29 Crimson Tide players that are on award watch list in 2014.

Maxwell Award (Player of the Year)

2013 winner: A.J. McCarron-Quarterback

2014 candidates

T.J. Yeldon-Running Back

Derrick Henry-Running Back

Amari Cooper-Wide Receiver

Jacob Coker-Quarterback

Doak Walker Award (premier running back)

2011 winner: Trent Richardson-Running Back

2014 candidates

T. J. Yeldon

Derrick Henry

Biletnikoff Award (outstanding wide receiver)

Amari Cooper

Remington Award (premier center)

2012 winner: Barrett Jones

2014 candidate

Ryan Kelly

Outland Trophy (outstanding interior lineman)

Previous winners: Barrett Jones (2011), Andre Smith (2008) and Chris Samuels (1999)

2014 candidates

Ryan Kelly

Arie Kouandjio-Offensive Line

A’Shawn Robinson-Defensive Line

Bronko Nagurski Trophy (outstanding defensive player)

Trey DePriest-Linebacker

Landon Collins-Defensive Back

A’Shawn Robinson

Chuck Bendarik Award (Defensive Player of the Year)

Trey DePriest

A’Shawn Robinson

Landon Collins

Jim Thorpe Award (best defensive back)

1993 winner: Antonio Langham

2014 candidate

Landon Collins

Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award (top senior quarterback)

2013 winner: AJ McCarron

2014 candidate

Jacob Coker

Mackey Award (outstanding tight end)

O.J. Howard

Paul Hornung Award (most versatile player)

Christion Jones-Wide Receiver

Rotary Lombardi Award (Lineman of the Year)

1986 winner: Cornelius Bennett

2014 candidates

A’Shawn Robinson

Arie Kouandjio

Ted Hendricks Award (top defensive end)

A’Shawn Robinson

Butkus Award (best linebacker)

Previous winners: C.J. Mosley (2013), Rolando McClain (2009) and Derrick Thomas (1988)

2014 candidates

Trey DePriest

Reggie Ragland

Walter Camp Award (outstanding player)

Landon Collins

Amari Cooper

T.J. Yeldon

Defensive lineman A’Shawn Robinson has a chance to have a special season as he is listed for five awards in 2014. AJ McCarron took home the Maxwell and Johnny Unitas Golden Arm awards last season. Can Jacob Coker follow suit? The answer to that question remains to be seen.

Alabama has produced many great running backs, but Trent Richardson was the lone player to win the Doak Walker Award. T.J. Yeldon or Derrick Henry has an opportunity to join Richardson this season.

Before he left the University of Alabama, Barrett Jones said Ryan Kelly would be better than he was. Kelly is listed for two awards this season and it will be up to him to anchor Alabama’s offensive line.

Amari Cooper struggled in 2013, but he could deliver Alabama its first Fred Biletnikoff Award winner in 2014. Antonio Langham was the only Crimson Tide player to hoist the Jim Thrope Award. Landon Collins will look to bring the award to Alabama next season.

The Tide has recruited some very talented linebackers, including Derrick Thomas, Rolando McClain and C.J. Mosley. The mantle falls on Trey DePriest in 2014. He or teammate Reggie Ragland has an opportunity to receive the Butkus Award.

Things don’t always go as planned, but it will be interesting to see if these Alabama players step up to par, perform well and collect some of these awards at the end of the 2014 season.

C.J. Mosley of Alabama Presented 2013 Collegiate Butkus Award

Stephen Smith is a 2015 graduate of the University of Alabama. He is a senior writer and reporter for Touchdown Alabama Magazine. He has covered Alabama football for 10+ years and his knowledge and coverage of the Crimson Tide's program have made him among the most respected journalist in his field. Smith has been featured on ESPN and several other marquee outlets as an analyst.

More in Alabama Football News