Connect with us

Alabama Football Live Updates

Alabama football holds awards banquet

Alabama safety Eddie Jackson walks on the field with a crutch during warm-ups before SEC title game vs. Florida: John David Mercer - USA TODAY Sports

TUSCALOOSA, Ala.– Alabama coach Nick Saban, his staff, the players and all supporting members gathered at the Birmingham Sheraton on Sunday for the program’s annual awards banquet. After recapping the 2016 college football season and what lies ahead in the College Football Playoff, the Crimson Tide named four captains that will represent the team in the postseason. Seniors Jonathan Allen, Reuben Foster and Eddie Jackson were all tapped, along with junior offensive tackle Cam Robinson. All four players have been integral to success for this group. Numerous awards were handed out by the coaching staff, as they are listed below.

Unsung Hero Award

Honorees: Tony Brown, Rashaan Evans, Hootie Jones, Cam Sims

Outstanding Senior Scholar

Honorees: Dakota Ball, Brandon Greene

Commitment to Academic Excellence Award

Honorees: Keaton Anderson, Cooper Bateman, Josh Casher, J.C. Hassenauer, Hale Hentges, Christian Miller

Iron Man Award

Honorees: Josh Jacobs, Anfernee Jennings, Korren Kirven, Bo Scarbrough

Most Inspiring Player (voted by team)

Honoree: Eddie Jackson

Pat Trammel Award

Honorees: Gehrig Dieter, Dalvin Tomlinson

Outstanding Defensive Performer

Honorees: Jonathan Allen, Ryan Anderson, Reuben Foster, Ronnie Harrison

Up-Front Award

Honorees: Bradley Bozeman, Ross Pierschbacher, Da’Ron Payne, Dalvin Tomlinson

Defensive Achievement Award

Honorees: Anthony Averett, Shaun Dion Hamilton, Da’Shawn Hand, Eddie Jackson, Tim Williams

Offensive Achievement Award

Honorees: Damien Harris, Jalen Hurts, Cam Robinson, Jonah Williams

President’s Award

Honorees: Minkah Fitzpatrick, Marlon Humphrey, O.J. Howard, Calvin Ridley

Jefferson County Distinguished Alumnus Award

Honoree: Bill Battle

Special Teams Player of the Year Award

Honorees: Adam Griffith, Keith Holcombe, Cole Mazza, JK Scott

Offensive Player of the Year Award

Honorees: Cam Robinson, ArDarius Stewart

Defensive Player of the Year Award

Honorees: Jonathan Allen, Ryan Anderson, Reuben Foster

Most Valuable Player Award (voted on by the players)

Honoree: Reuben Foster

Captain Award (voted on by players to be permanent captains)

Honorees: Jonathan Allen, Reuben Foster, Eddie Jackson, Cam Robinson

*** All information comes via press release UA’s athletic communications department***

Stephen M. Smith is a senior analyst and columnist for Touchdown Alabama MagazineYou can “like” him on Facebook or “follow” him on Twitter, via @Smsmith_TDALMag.

Stephen Smith is a 2015 graduate of the University of Alabama. He is a senior writer and reporter for Touchdown Alabama Magazine. He has covered Alabama football for 10+ years and his knowledge and coverage of the Crimson Tide's program have made him among the most respected journalist in his field. Smith has been featured on ESPN and several other marquee outlets as an analyst.

More in Alabama Football Live Updates