Breaking News

Breaking: Media Predicts Alabama to Repeat as SEC Champions

via: Jason Getz USA Today Sports

With SEC Media week officially wrapping up, the journalists attending the event voted on all-conference teams, standings and most importantly who will take home the SEC championship. To little surprise, Alabama was selected yet again to take home the conference crown.

The crimson tide received 203 votes to win the conference championship over the Georgia Bulldogs for the second straight season. Georgia came in second place with just 49 votes.

Alabama was also picked to win the SEC West division by garnering 1,813 points and 253 first-place votes with LSU coming in second with 1,493 followed by Texas A&M with 1,268 points.

But Nick Saban’s team was not done making noise today. The defending SEC champions set a record for first-team selections with a total of 12 members of the crimson tide predicted to make the teams. The previous record of 10 was also made by Alabama in 2017.

The players selected to first-team honors were quarterback Tua Tagovailoa, running back Najee Harris, wide receiver Jerry Jeudy, wide receiver Henry Ruggs, tackle Alex Leatherwood, tackle Jedrick Wills Jr., defensive lineman Raekwon Davis, linebacker Dylan Moses, linebacker Anfernee Jennings, cornerback Trevon Diggs and specialist Jaylen Waddle.

Since 1992 the media has only predicted the SEC champion correctly seven times including last seasons game. Alabama faithful will likely hope for the media to get on a hot streak in that department.

Check back for full All-Conference Teams and Standings.

SEC West Division Standings (With first-place votes)

1.) Alabama (253)

2.) LSU (5)

3.) Texas A&M(-)

4.) Auburn (1)

5.) Mississippi State (1)

6. Ole Miss (-)

7. Arkansas (-)


SEC East Division Standings (With first-place votes)

1.) Georgia (233)

2.) Florida (22)

3.) Missouri (3)

4.) South Carolina (1)

5.) Tennessee (1)

6.) Kentucky (1)

7.) Vanderbilt(-)


SEC Champion Points

Alabama – 203 Points

Georgia – 49 Points

LSU – 3 Points

Mississippi State – 1 Point

Tennessee – 1 Point

Florida – 1 Point

South Carolina – 1 Point

Auburn – 1 Point

2019 All-SEC First Team


QB Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama

RB D’Andre Swift, Georgia

RB Najee Harris, Alabama

WR Jerry Jeudy, Alabama

WR Henry Ruggs III, Alabama

TE Albert Okwuegbunam, Missouri

OL Andrew Thomas, Georgia

OL Alex Leatherwood, Alabama

OL Prince Tega Wanogho, Auburn

OL Jedrick Wills Jr., Alabama

C Lloyd Cushenberry, LSU


DL Raekwon Davis, Alabama

DL Derrick Brown, Auburn

DL Rashard Lawrence, LSU

DL Jabari Zuniga, Florida

LB Dylan Moses, Alabama

LB Anfernee Jennings, Alabama

LB Erroll Thompson, Mississippi State

DB Grant Delpit, LSU

DB J.R. Reed, Georgia

DB Trevon Diggs, Alabama

DB C.J. Henderson, Florida

Other Notable Tide Members

WR Jaylen Waddle – Second-team offense

TE Miller Forristall – Third-team offense

OL Deonte Brown – Third-team offense

OL Matt Womack – Third-team offense

DB Patrick Surtain II – Second-team defense

DB Xavier McKinney – Second-team defense

DL LaBryan Ray – Third-team defense

LB Terrell Lewis – Third-team defense

DB Shyheim Carter – Third-team defense


*Get the BEST Alabama football insider information, message board access, and recruiting coverage today! SIGN UP HERE to unlock our subscriber only content!*

Patrick Dowd is a Reporter for Touchdown Alabama Magazine. You can follow him on Twitter, via Pat_Dowd77

Facebook Comments

To Top
%d bloggers like this: