Alabama Football News

Alabama announces permanent captains and team awards for 2021

Bryce Young takes a snap from Seth McLaughlin
Photo by Crimson Tide Photo

The University of Alabama football team held its annual awards banquet Sunday evening inside Coleman Coliseum.

Alabama head coach Nick Saban addressed an audience that included members of the team, coaching staff, administration and support staff following the awards session in which he recapped the 2021 season. Saban also stated the team goals for the upcoming matchup against the No. 4/4/4 Cincinnati Bearcats in the College Football Playoff Semifinal at the Goodyear Cotton Bowl Classic inside AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas, on Friday, Dec. 31, 2021.

The Crimson Tide also named four captains on Sunday with Will Anderson Jr., Phidarian Mathis, Evan Neal and Bryce Young elected as the representatives for the 2021 team.

The complete list of award winners is as follows.


Unsung Hero AwardTo the player who has made significant contributions to the success of the team and received the least recognition for it

Ja’Corey Brooks, DJ Dale, Justin Eboigbe, Malachi Moore, Dallas Turner


Outstanding Senior ScholarTo the senior with the highest GPAChris Owens, LaBryan Ray


Commitment to Academic Excellence AwardTo the player who has demonstrated the greatest commitment and achievement in his academic endeavors during the previous yearSlade Bolden, DJ Dale, Shane Lee, Seth McLaughlin, Jalen Milroe, Paul Tyson

Iron Man AwardTo the player(s) who have shown the most dedication to the individual and team goals of the Crimson Tide’s year-round strength and conditioning programBrian Branch, Cameron Latu, Seth McLaughlin, Drew Sanders


Most Inspiring PlayerTo the player who affects the whole team by his attitude as well as his performance (voted on by the players)Will Anderson Jr.


Pat Trammel AwardTo a senior player whose character and contributions to the Alabama Football Team most personify the All-American youth of today and has reflected qualities of Integrity, Character, Importance of Academics and Inspirational Leadership during their time at AlabamaJalyn Armour-Davis, Kendall Randolph, LaBryan Ray


Outstanding Defensive PerformerTo the player with the most tackles/pointsWill Anderson Jr., Jordan Battle, Phidarian Mathis, Henry To’oTo’o


Up-Front AwardTo the outstanding lineman from each unitJavion Cohen, Darrian Dalcourt, Tim Smith, Byron Young


Defensive Achievement AwardTo the player who has played a critical role in the effectiveness of this unitJalyn Armour-Davis, Christian Harris, DeMarcco Hellams, Josh Jobe


Offensive Achievement AwardTo the player who has played a critical role in the effectiveness of this unit

Slade Bolden, Emil Ekiyor Jr., Chris Owens, Jameson Williams


President’s AwardTo a player from each unit who has shown perseverance in making outstanding contributions to the team’s successKendall Randolph, Brian Robinson Jr., Trey Sanders, Daniel Wright


Jefferson County Distinguished Alumnus AwardA former player who has exemplified the principles, values, character and attitude that make a person successful either during a particular life experience or over a period of timeJohnny Musso


Special Teams Player of the Year AwardTo the most valuable special teams playerSlade Bolden, Demouy Kennedy, Jaylen Moody, Will Reichard


Offensive Player of the Year AwardTo the most valuable offensive playerJohn Metchie III, Jameson Williams, Bryce Young


Defensive Player of the Year AwardTo the most valuable defensive playerWill Anderson Jr., Phidarian Mathis


Most Valuable Player AwardTo the overall most valuable player on the team (voted on by the players)Bryce Young


Captain AwardsTo the players elected by their teammates as permanent team captains (voted on by the players)Will Anderson Jr., Phidarian Mathis, Evan Neal, Bryce Young

**This information was acquired from a recent press release from Alabama Athletics.**

*Get the BEST Alabama football insider information, message board access, and recruiting coverage today! SIGN UP HERE to unlock our subscriber only content!*

Patrick Dowd is a Reporter for Touchdown Alabama Magazine. You can follow him on Twitter, via Pat_Dowd77

Facebook Comments

To Top