Alabama Football News

List of awards from Alabama’s coaching staff as spring practice ends

Traeshon Holden (No. 11) with a reception in Alabama's spring game
Photo by Kent Gidley of Alabama Athletics/SEC Media Portal

Fifteen practices are in the books as Alabama football has ended spring camp.

RELATED: A-Day showed fans that Alabama’s youth on defense is dangerous

On Saturday, the Crimson Tide held its annual A-Day Game at Bryant-Denny Stadium. A crowd of nearly 50,000 fans watched Bryce Young lead the first-team offense (White) to a 13-10 victory. Alabama honored its 2020 College Football Playoff National Championship team, and DeVonta Smith was presented with both the Heisman Trophy and Maxwell Award. After a competitive spring game, Nick Saban and the coaching staff handed out awards at midfield. Listed below are the honors for the players.

Awards from the coaches

Lee Roy Jordan Headhunter Award: Will Anderson Jr., Brian Robinson Jr.

-Jerry Duncan “I Like to Practice” Award: Slade Bolden, Darrian Dalcourt, Kyle Edwards, Kendall Randolph, Drew Sanders, Daniel Wright

Billy Neighbors Defensive Lineman Award: Justin Eboigbe, DJ Dale, Byron Young

Paul Crane Offensive Lineman Award: Evan Neal, Chris Owens

Bobby Johns Defensive Back Award: Jordan Battle, Josh Jobe

Johnny Musso Offensive Back Award: Jase McClellan, Roydell Williams

Ray Perkins Receiver Award: Javon Baker, Jahleel Billingsley

Woodrow Lowe Linebacker Award: Chris Allen, Christian Harris

Derrick Thomas Community Service Award: Shane Lee, Brian Robinson, Ronald Williams

Bear Bryant Outstanding Non-Scholarship Award: Braxton Barker, Bret Bolin, DJ Douglas, Joshua Lanier, Sam Willoughby

Ozzie Newsome Most Improved Freshman Award: Chris Braswell, Dameion George, Agiye Hall, Traeshon Holden, JC Latham, Deontae Lawson, Ga’Quincy McKinstry, Que Robinson, Tim Smith

Bart Starr Most Improved Player Award: Jalyn Armour-Davis, Marcus Banks, Brian Branch, DeMarcco Hellams, Cameron Latu, Seth McLaughlin, Jaylen Moody

Mal Moore Leadership Award: Phil Mathis, John Metchie

Sylvester Croom Commitment to Excellence Award: LaBryan Ray, Will Reichard, Bryce Young

Awards voted on by media

Dwight Stephenson Award (Most Valuable Lineman): Jah-Marien Latham

Dixie Howell Memorial Award (Most Valuable Player): Bryce Young

*Get the BEST Alabama football insider information, message board access, and recruiting coverage today! SIGN UP HERE to unlock our subscriber-only content!*

Stephen M. Smith is the managing editor and senior writer for Touchdown Alabama Magazine.  You can “like” him on Facebook or “follow” him on Twitter, via @CoachingMSmith.

Facebook Comments

To Top