Connect with us

Stephen's Report

UA players to partake in College Football Awards

Cedric Mason- Touchdown Alabama Magazine

The College Football Hall of Fame in downtown Atlanta will be jam-packed Thursday night for the annual College Football Awards show. A few Alabama players will be in attendance, looking for an opportunity to bring home some hardware.

Yours truly of Touchdown Alabama Magazine now lists the categories and Crimson Tide finalists.

Chuck Bednarik Award (best defensive player)

Tyler Matakevich, Sr. LB, Temple

Carl Nassib, Sr. DE, Penn State

Reggie Ragland, Sr. LB, Alabama

Dick Butkus Award (nation’s best linebacker)

Leonard Floyd, Jr. LB, Georgia

Deion Jones, Sr. LB, LSU

Raekwon McMillan, Soph. LB, Ohio State

Reggie Ragland, Sr. LB, Alabama 

Jaylon Smith, Jr. LB, Notre Dame

Doak Walker Award (nation’s best running back)

Leonard Fournette, Soph. RB, LSU

Derrick Henry, Jr. RB, Alabama 

Christian McCaffrey, Soph. RB, Stanford

Maxwell Award (Maxwell Football Club’s player of the year)

Derrick Henry, Jr. RB, Alabama

Christian McCaffrey, Soph. RB, Stanford

Deshaun Watson, Soph. QB, Clemson

Outland Trophy (Best interior lineman)

Spencer Drango, Sr. OT, Baylor

Joshua Garnett, Sr. OG, Stanford

A’Shawn Robinson, Jr. DT, Alabama

ESPN is set to air the event live at 6:00 p.m. (CT).

Stephen M. Smith is a senior analyst and columnist for Touchdown Alabama MagazineYou can “like” him on Facebook or “follow” him on Twitter, via @ESPN_Future.

Stephen Smith is a 2015 graduate of the University of Alabama. He is a senior writer and reporter for Touchdown Alabama Magazine. He has covered Alabama football for 10+ years and his knowledge and coverage of the Crimson Tide's program have made him among the most respected journalist in his field. Smith has been featured on ESPN and several other marquee outlets as an analyst.

More in Stephen's Report