Alabama Football News

Tua Tagovailoa named Heisman Finalist

Tua Tagovailoa was named a Heisman Trophy finalist on Monday.

Tagovailoa will be joined by fellow finalist, Dwayne Haskins and Kyler Murray, in New York for the 2018 Heisman ceremony on Dec. 8. This year’s ceremony will feature three quarterbacks.

Tagovailoa has been the poster boy of college football the entire season. Many college football analyst and betting sites had Tagovailoa as the favorite to win the award before the season started. He kept their faith for majority of the season by throwing 36 touchdowns and only two interceptions during the regular season in route to breaking Alabama’s single-season passing touchdown record previously held by AJ McCarron.

The last Alabama player to win the award was Derrick Henry in 2015. Mark Ingram brought the Tide their first Heisman trophy in 2009. If Tagovailoa was to win the award, he would be the third player in Alabama football history to do so.

Tagovailoa and Murray will face off in the 2018 Capital One Orange Bowl weeks after the ceremony. If one of them was to win the Heisman Trophy, the other could prove the Heisman voters got it wrong with a stellar performance and a National Championship berth.


Facebook Comments

To Top
%d bloggers like this: