Enjoy Premium Content!
Breaking News. No Network. Only Alabama Football.
Subscribe Today
Live Updates

SEC Championship Game set, Alabama to face Florida for second straight year

Alabama coach Nick Saban and Gators' coach Jim McElwain in warm-ups during 2015 SEC title game: Cedric Mason - Touchdown Alabama Magazine

TUSCALOOSA—For a ninth time since 1992, a Southeastern Conference champion will be decided between Alabama and Florida. While the Crimson Tide clinched the SEC West with a win over Mississippi State and an Auburn loss, Florida took care of the SEC East with a 16-10 victory over LSU. It will be the second straight year in which Alabama’s coach Nick Saban faces his former assistant, Gators’ head coach Jim McElwain.

The Tide is 4-4 against Florida in SEC title games, with wins coming in 1992, 1999, 2009 and 2015.

Saban saw his group earn a 29-15 win in last year’s meeting, as Derrick Henry totaled 189 yards rushing and Jake Coker tossed for two scores. This year’s match-up will be on Dec. 3 at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta.

SEC Championship Game history between Alabama and Florida

1992: Alabama 28, Florida 21

1993: Florida 28, Alabama 13

1994: Florida 24, Alabama 23

1996: Florida 45, Alabama 30

1999: Alabama 34, Florida 7

2008: Florida 31, Alabama 20

2009: Alabama 32, Florida 13

2015: Alabama 29, Florida 15

Stephen M. Smith is a senior analyst and columnist for Touchdown Alabama MagazineYou can “like” him on Facebook or “follow” him on Twitter, via @Smsmith_TDALMag.

Facebook Comments

To Top