Alabama Football News

BREAKING: Tua Tagovailoa wins Maxwell Award

Touchdown Alabama Magazine

Tua Tagovailoa was selected as the Maxwell Award winner on Thursday.

The Maxwell award is awarded annually to the best all-around college football player. Tagovailoa is the 82nd winner of the award. The last Alabama player to win the award was Derrick Henry in 2015. AJ McCarron won it in 2013.

Tagovailoa has racked up several accolades this season and the Maxwell Award is just the latest in a long list of possible awards. He beat out Kyler Murray and Will Grier to win it. Murray will line up as the starting quarterback for the Oklahoma Sooners, when Alabama takes them on in the Capital One Orange Bowl on Dec. 29.

Tagovailoa’s season has been highlighted by explosive plays and impressive numbers. He has thrown for 3,353 yards and 37 touchdowns this season.

The Alabama quarterback will attend the Heisman trophy ceremony as a finalist on Dec. 8. 39 of the 81 Maxwell Award winners have gone on to win the Heisman Award. Tagovailoa hopes his fortunes are the same as previous Maxwell Award winners.

*Get the BEST Alabama football insider information, message board access, and recruiting coverage today! SIGN UP HERE to unlock our subscriber-only content!*

Justin Smith is a Scouting/Recruiting analyst for Touchdown Alabama Magazine. You can follow him on Twitter, via @Jdsmith31Smith



Please follow and like us:
Facebook Comments

To Top
%d bloggers like this: