Connect with us

Alabama Football Live Updates

Tua Tagovailoa, Anfernee Jennings among permanent team captains for Alabama

Brett Davis - USA TODAY Sports

On Sunday, Alabama football held its annual awards banquet at the Birmingham (Ala.) Sheraton. 

Prior to facing Michigan in the Citrus Bowl, Nick Saban and his staff awarded some players for their hard work throughout the season.

While the year did not yield the team’s ultimate goal, it still has an opportunity to finish the campaign with a victory.

The Crimson Tide named four permanent team captains – Tua Tagovailoa, Anfernee Jennings, DeVonta Smith and Xavier McKinney – for the final game of the football year versus Jim Harbaugh and the Wolverines. 

RELATED: Alabama to have players meeting between draft eligible players

All four players will have their hand and cleat print enshrined at Denny Chimes.

The honors are all listed via, but a few of them are written below. 

Unsung Hero Award 

To the player who has made significant contributions to the success of the team and received the least recognition for it 

Josh Jobe, Kendall Randolph, Major Tennison, Chris Owens, Matt Womack 

Iron Man Award 

To the player(s) who have shown the most dedication to the individual and team goals of the Crimson Tide’s year-round strength and conditioning program 

DJ Dale, Christian Harris, Evan Neal, Byron Young 

Most Inspiring Player 

To the player who affects the whole team by his attitude as well as his performance (voted on by the players)  

Tua Tagovailoa 

Outstanding Defensive Performer 

To the player with the most tackles/points 

Trevon Diggs, Anfernee Jennings, Terrell Lewis, Xavier McKinney 


Up-Front Award 

To the outstanding lineman from each unit 

Deonte Brown, Landon Dickerson, Christian Barmore, Phidarian Mathis 


Special Teams Player of the Year Award 

To the most valuable special teams player 

Slade Bolden, Thomas Fletcher, Ale Kaho, Jaylen Waddle 


Offensive Player of the Year Award 

To the most valuable offensive player 

Tua Tagovailoa, Jerry Jeudy, Jedrick Wills Jr. 


Defensive Player of the Year Award 

To the most valuable defensive player 

Anfernee Jennings, Xavier McKinney 


Most Valuable Player Award 

To the overall most valuable player on the team (voted on by the players) 

Tua Tagovailoa  


*Get the BEST Alabama football insider information, message board access, and recruiting coverage today! SIGN UP HERE to unlock our subscriber only content!*

Stephen M. Smith is the managing editor and senior writer for Touchdown Alabama Magazine.  You can “like” him on Facebook or “follow” him on Twitter, via @CoachingMSmith.

Stephen Smith is a 2015 graduate of the University of Alabama. He is a senior writer and reporter for Touchdown Alabama Magazine. He has covered Alabama football for 10+ years and his knowledge and coverage of the Crimson Tide's program have made him among the most respected journalist in his field. Smith has been featured on ESPN and several other marquee outlets as an analyst.

More in Alabama Football Live Updates