Connect with us

Alabama’s junior running back Derrick Henry is set for a huge season in 2015.

He is listed as a preseason first-team All-SEC member, according to college football writer Phil Steele and a third-team All-SEC player by sports writers Thursday at SEC Media Days.

Henry was already named to the Maxwell and Doak Walker Award watch lists, but Friday witnessed another preseason accolade for him, the Walter Camp Award watch list.

The Walter Camp Player of the Year Award is given to the top collegiate athlete.  It’s voted on by all 128 NCAA FBS head coaches and information directors.

The winner will be announced live on SportsCenter on Thursday, Dec.10, and will receive the award on Jan. 16, 2016 at the foundation’s annual national awards banquet (Yale University Commons) in New Haven, Conn.

Henry, 6-foot-3, 242 pounds, totaled 990 rushing yards with 11 touchdowns on 5.8 yards per carry last season. He caught five passes for 133 yards and two touchdowns.


Alabama players on preseason awards watch lists

  • RB Derrick Henry- Maxwell Award, Doak Walker Award, Walter Camp Award
  • LB Reggie Ragland- Butkus Award,  Bronko Nagurski Award, Chuck Bednarik Award
  • DL A’Shawn Robinson- Chuck Bednarik Award, Outland Trophy, Rotary Lombardi Award, Bronko Nagurski Award 
  • OL Ryan Kelly- Remington Trophy, Outland Trophy, Rotary Lombardi Award 
  • TE O.J. Howard- John Mackey Award 
  • P JK Scott- Ray Guy Award
  • DL Jonathan Allen- Bronko Nagurski Award 
  • OL Cameron Robinson- Outland Trophy 
  • DL Jarran Reed- Outland Trophy


Stephen M. Smith is a staff writer and columnist for Touchdown Alabama Magazine, Pick Six Previews and SB Nation. You can “like” him on Facebook or “follow” him on Twitter, via @ESPN_Future.

Facebook Comments

Stephen Smith is a 2015 graduate of the University of Alabama. He is a senior writer and reporter for Touchdown Alabama Magazine. He has covered Alabama football for 10+ years and his knowledge and coverage of the Crimson Tide's program have made him among the most respected journalist in his field. Smith has been featured on ESPN and several other marquee outlets as an analyst.

More in Alabama Football News