Connect with us

Alabama Football Live Updates

Alabama quarterback Jalen Hurts named semifinalist for Davey O’Brien Award

Alabama quarterback Jalen Hurts (#2) throwing on the run in the Tide's game versus LSU on last week at Bryant-Denny Stadium: Cedric Mason - Touchdown Alabama Magazine

After showing the ability of putting Alabama on his back in the passing game versus Louisiana State University, sophomore quarterback Jalen Hurts has a lot of confidence moving forward. 

Despite going 11 for 24 passing, the reigning Southeastern Conference Offensive Player of the Year had a number of his throws dropped – yet and still – he was able to give the Crimson Tide’s receivers an opportunity to make plays while posting two scores in a 24-10 victory last week. 

Per an announcement from the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee, Hurts was chosen as one of 16 candidates to be a semifinalist for the Davey O’Brien Award this morning. 

Named after Texas Sports Hall of Famer Davey O’Brien, who played quarterback at Texas Christian University, the Davey O’Brien Award is presented annually to the college football player that’s judged by the Davey O’Brien Foundation to be the best quarterback in the nation. 

Through nine games this season, Hurts has completed 106 of 175 pass attempts (60.6 percent) for 1,406 passing yards with 10 touchdowns to one interception.

He’s also carried the ball 98 times for 616 rushing yards and seven scores. Hailing from Channelview, Texas, the 6-foot-2 talented signal caller is 22-1 as a starter and has 53 total touchdowns in his career. 

He joins Nick Fitzgerald of Mississippi State as the second Southeastern Conference quarterback named for this honor. The Davey O’Brien Foundation and Selection Committee will narrow the list down to three finalists on Monday, Nov. 20, and a winner will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards show on Thursday, Dec. 7 in Atlanta.  

While Hurts would be the first Alabama player in school history to win the award – should he be announced as the winner – former Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel was the last person to receive the honor in 2012.  

Stephen M. Smith is the managing editor and senior writer for Touchdown Alabama Magazine.  You can “like” him on Facebook or “follow” him on Twitter, via @Smsmith_TDALMag.

Stephen Smith is a 2015 graduate of the University of Alabama. He is a senior writer and reporter for Touchdown Alabama Magazine. He has covered Alabama football for 10+ years and his knowledge and coverage of the Crimson Tide's program have made him among the most respected journalist in his field. Smith has been featured on ESPN and several other marquee outlets as an analyst.

More in Alabama Football Live Updates