Connect with us

Alabama Football Impact Players

UA running back a semifinalist for Doak Walker Award

Alabama running back Derrick Henry has earned every accolade to his name this season.

The junior is a four-time Southeastern Conference Player of the Week honoree and a semifinalist for the Maxwell Award, an honor bestowed on the best collegiate player in the league.

More recognition came to Henry Wednesday morning, in the form of the Doak Walker Award. He was selected by SMU’s PwC Athletic Forum as one of 11 semifinalist for the award.

Henry has recorded monster numbers this year, totaling 1,458 rushing yards and 19 touchdowns.

He averages 24 carries and 145.8 yards per game.

Henry has been superb against SEC defenses, averaging 166.1 rushing yards with 12 scores. He surpassed former SEC player Tim Tebow for most consecutive games with a rushing touchdowns (15) and accounted three 200-yard rushing performances against Texas A&M, LSU and Mississippi State.

Ex-Crimson Tide running back Trent Richardson was the last player to win the Doak Walker Award. He captured the honor in 2011, after finishing with 1,679 yards and 21 touchdowns on 283 carries as a junior. He would add on 29 receptions for 338 yards with three scores in the same year.

Finalists for the Doak Walker Award will be announced on Nov. 24. The honor is given to the nation’s best running back.

Stephen M. Smith is a senior analyst and columnist for Touchdown Alabama MagazineYou can “like” him on Facebook or “follow” him on Twitter, via @ESPN_Future.

Stephen Smith is a 2015 graduate of the University of Alabama. He is a senior writer and reporter for Touchdown Alabama Magazine. He has covered Alabama football for 10+ years and his knowledge and coverage of the Crimson Tide's program have made him among the most respected journalist in his field. Smith has been featured on ESPN and several other marquee outlets as an analyst.

More in Alabama Football Impact Players