Connect with us

Alabama Football Live Updates

Alabama’s Derrick Henry wins Walter Camp Award

Cedric Mason- Touchdown Alabama Magazine

Alabama running back Derrick Henry will need a suitcase before he takes to the National Football League.

The junior was awarded Walter Camp Football Foundation’s National Player of the Year, becoming the first Crimson Tide player to win this honor. Henry has been stellar this season, totaling 1,986 yards rushing with 23 touchdowns. 

He chimes in with nine 100-yard rushing performances and four 200-yard games. Henry surpassed former Southeastern Conference players Tim Tebow, Herschel Walker and Bo Jackson this season. He has accounted for a rushing touchdown in 18 straight games and his 1,986 yards are the most in a single season in conference history. 

Henry is also finalist for Doak Walker and Maxwell national awards. He will be in New York City this week for the 81st Heisman Memorial Trophy presentation. 

Stephen M. Smith is a senior analyst and columnist for Touchdown Alabama MagazineYou can “like” him on Facebook or “follow” him on Twitter, via @ESPN_Future.


Facebook Comments

Stephen Smith is a 2015 graduate of the University of Alabama. He is a senior writer and reporter for Touchdown Alabama Magazine. He has covered Alabama football for 10+ years and his knowledge and coverage of the Crimson Tide's program have made him among the most respected journalist in his field. Smith has been featured on ESPN and several other marquee outlets as an analyst.

More in Alabama Football Live Updates