Live Updates

Alabama offensive lineman Bradley Bozeman named finalist for Rimington Trophy

Cedric Mason - Touchdown Alabama Magazine

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. — Sheer elation continues at the University of Alabama, especially following news of it getting into the College Football Playoff and its coaching staff awarding players at the program’s annual awards banquet on Sunday inside the Birmingham Sheraton. 

Senior offensive lineman Bradley Bozeman was one of three candidates selected as a finalist for the Rimington Trophy on Monday, according to the Boomer Esiason Foundation.  

Bozeman, a two-year starter at center, has guided the Crimson Tide to an opportunity at winning its second national championship of the playoff era and 17th national title in school history. 

The former three-star prospect from Roanoke (Ala.) cleared the way for an average of 465 total yards offensively, which is second in the Southeastern Conference. He’s also blocked for 39.1 points (second in SEC) and 265.3 rushing yards a contest (first in SEC).

Behind him, the Tide ranks at Nos. 12 and 10 respectively in the nation in terms of scoring offense and rush offense. 

After protecting quarterback Jalen Hurts to earn SEC’s Offensive Player of the Year as a freshman last season, Bozeman keep his signal-caller upright to account for 2,708 total yards – 1,940 passing, 768 rushing – with 23 touchdowns to one interception on a 60.8 completion clip. 

In the rushing attack, Bozeman set the tone in having the combination of Damien Harris, Bo Scarbrough and Hurts to total 27 scores. Harris leads the group with 906 yards rushing and 11 touchdowns.

Both Hurts and Scarbrough each chime in with eight scores. 

Even freshman Najee Harris has benefitted the 314-pounder, gaining 306 rushing yards with three touchdowns on 55 attempts. Named after former University of Nebraska center Dave Rimington, who played from 1979 to 1982, the Rimington Trophy is presented to college football’s top center.

Since the award was first handed out in 2000, ex-Alabama standouts Barrett Jones (2012) and Ryan Kelly (2015) — both were on national championship teams. 

Bozeman joins Will Clapp of LSU and Billy Price of Ohio State as a finalist. 

During the team’s awards banquet, Bozeman was one of four players to be a permanent team captain for Alabama – joining Minkah Fitzpatrick, Shaun Dion Hamilton and Rashaan Evans. 

Stephen M. Smith is the managing editor and senior writer for Touchdown Alabama Magazine.  You can “like” him on Facebook or “follow” him on Twitter, via @Smsmith_TDALMag.

Please follow and like us:
Facebook Comments

To Top