Enjoy Premium Content!
Breaking News. No Network. Only Alabama Football.
Subscribe Today
Alabama Football News

Why Nick Saban does not win more national coaching honors?

The last time Nick Saban was showered with national coaching honors was in 2008. 

He was trying to get the University of Alabama back to where it once stood in football under coaches like Wallace Wade, Frank Thomas, Paul Bryant and Eugene “Gene” Stallings. 

In doing so, national media saw his climb and honored him with five coaching awards – including Southeastern Conference, Associated Press, Sporting News and Eddie Robinson Coach the Year awards. Now that he has won five of the last nine national championships, it has become more of an expectation and less shock value to see Saban win.  

RELATED: Alabama’s Nick Saban named one of three finalist for AP Coach of the Year

Many news outlets are nowadays prone to select coaches for honors that most do not expect to generate successful seasons with various teams. Whether the reason stems from expectation or Crimson Tide fatigue, something must be said on why the greatest coach in modern-day college football is not being recognized.

In Sunday’s airing of In My Own Words, Stephen Smith of Touchdown Alabama Magazine dives into what the reason might be.

Check out the podcast.

*Get the BEST Alabama football insider information, message board access, and recruiting coverage today! SIGN UP HERE to unlock our subscriber only content!*

Stephen M. Smith is the managing editor and senior writer for Touchdown Alabama Magazine.  You can “like” him on Facebook or “follow” him on Twitter, via @CoachingMSmith.

Facebook Comments

To Top