Connect with us

Alabama Football News

Alabama RB Najee Harris named to 2020 Doak Walker Award watch list

Erich Schlegel - USA TODAY Sports

After seeing Dylan Moses, Patrick Surtain II and Mac Jones get the ball rolling for the University of Alabama, in terms of student-athletes making preseason award watch lists, Najee Harris became the latest candidate on Wednesday. 

According to an announcement from the SMU Athletic Forum, Harris was one of 76 running backs selected to the Doak Walker Award.

Named in honor of Doak Walker, a star running back at Southern Methodist University and the National Football League, the honor is presented to college football’s top back.  

Harris, a native of Antioch, Calif., is entering his senior year in the fall. 

The 6-foot-2, 230-pounder recorded his first career 1,000-yard season in 2019 – totaling 1,224 rushing yards with 13 touchdowns on 209 carries. He averaged 94.2 yards per game and tallied six matchups of 100-plus yards rushing, including four versus Southeastern Conference schools. 

As a receiver, Harris caught 27 passes with seven for scores. 

RELATED: President Trump refers to Alabama coach as Lou Saban on call with Tommy Tuberville

Despite the global pandemic of the Coronavirus, the former five-star has been training all summer to improve his speed and overall play at his position. He chose to return for his senior season, because he is eyeing a national championship, individual awards and a first-round NFL Draft stock. With the offensive line that Alabama has, Nick Saban will put Harris in position to capitalize on each goal he has set for himself.  

Since the Doak Walker honor was first awarded in 1990, two former Crimson Tide standouts were recipients of the trophy. Trent Richardson won the award in 2011 on the heels of 1,679 yards rushing with 21 touchdowns on 283 carries. The native Floridian and former five-star achieved a single-season school record for the Tide, pushing it to a BCS national title that season. 

Derrick Henry surpassed Richardson’s mark in 2015. 

He pounded opposition to the tune of 2,219 yards (SEC single-season mark) and 28 scores on 395 carries. Henry propelled the program to a College Football Playoff National Championship and carried home every individual honor – including the Heisman Memorial Trophy that year. 

Now, Harris will have his chance to become Alabama’s third Doak Walker Award winner. 

*Get the BEST Alabama football insider information, message board access, and recruiting coverage today! SIGN UP HERE to unlock our subscriber only content!*

Stephen M. Smith is the managing editor and senior writer for Touchdown Alabama Magazine.  You can “like” him on Facebook or “follow” him on Twitter, via @CoachingMSmith.

Stephen Smith is a 2015 graduate of the University of Alabama. He is a senior writer and reporter for Touchdown Alabama Magazine. He has covered Alabama football for 10+ years and his knowledge and coverage of the Crimson Tide's program have made him among the most respected journalist in his field. Smith has been featured on ESPN and several other marquee outlets as an analyst.

More in Alabama Football News