Nick Saban

Nick Saban wins Willie Jeffries Trailblazer honor from Coalition of Minority Coaches

Nick Saban smiles after winning 2020 CFP National Title
Mark J. Rebilas - USA TODAY Sports

Nick Saban continues to separate himself as the greatest coach in college football.

According to the National Coalition of Minority Football Coaches (NCMFC), he was awarded the Willie Jeffries Trailblazer honor.

The NCMFC is an organization that prepares, promotes, and produces qualified minority coaches at every level of the game.

RELATED: 12-team Playoff officially proposed by College Football Playoff working group

As for the Willie Jeffries Award, the honor is given to the individual or group whose sustained work in football has advanced the ideals of the NCMFC. During his coaching tenure at Alabama, Saban has mentored some minority coaches into becoming head coaches for different schools.

He poured his wisdom into Bobby Williams, Burton Burns, Michael Locksley, Josh Gattis, Charles Huff, Mel Tucker, Derrick Ansley, Bo Davis, Karl Dunbar, and Charlie Strong.

Saban is currently tutoring names such as Holman Wiggins, Freddie Roach, Jay Valai, and Robert Gillespie. Locksley, Huff, and Tucker all went on to become head coaches.

Saban is not just for diversity, but he also about bettering each individual. This season, he will be in search of his eighth national championship.

*Get the BEST Alabama football insider information, message board access, and recruiting coverage today! SIGN UP HERE to unlock our subscriber-only content!*

Stephen M. Smith is the managing editor and senior writer for Touchdown Alabama Magazine.  You can “like” him on Facebook or “follow” him on Twitter, via @CoachingMSmith.

Facebook Comments

To Top