Enjoy Premium Content!
Breaking News. No Network. Only Alabama Football.
Subscribe Today
Stephen's Report

Alabama offensive line wins Joe Moore Award

Cedric Mason- Touchdown Alabama Magazine

A slow start for Alabama offensive line coach Mario Cristobal and his unit turned into a strong finish, capped with a Southeastern Conference title. The Crimson Tide’s front line won the inaugural Joe Moore Award Wednesday, an honor presented to the nation’s top offensive line.

Running back Derrick Henry benefitted greatly from this group anchored by senior center Ryan Kelly and sophomore left tackle Cam Robinson. Henry led the nation in rushing with 1,986 yards and 23 touchdowns. He averaged 152.77 yards per game and swept the College Football Awards, collecting Maxwell, Doak Walker and Walter Camp national honors.

Henry finished the season as Alabama’s second Heisman Trophy winner in school history, beating Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson and Stanford running back Christian McCaffrey. Henry recorded nine 100-yard rushing outings and four 200-yard games behind Robinson, Ross Pierschbacher, Kelly, Alphonse Taylor and Dominick Jackson (left to right).

Alabama generated 34.1 points, 208.2 rushing yards and 422.5 total yards offensively. Cristobal and his offensive unit will travel to Dallas, Texas on Dec. 31 for a Cotton Bowl (semifinal) match-up against No.4-ranked Michigan State.

Stephen M. Smith is a senior analyst and columnist for Touchdown Alabama MagazineYou can “like” him on Facebook or “follow” him on Twitter, via @ESPN_Future.

Facebook Comments

To Top